Third Time’s a Charm?

Sooo…third time’s a charm, right? This will be my third attempt to become a blogger.

So here’s the deal. Before we had a 1 and a 3 year old and were living in Arkansas. Now…we live in Nebraska and we have a 3 almost 4 year old, a 2 year old and a 4 month old. Yeah. The baby showing up was, as we like to say, a birth control malfunction. (Sorry if that’s TMI!) But we’re thankful she’s here and wouldn’t trade her for the world.

If you’re one of the amazing 10 people who’s ever read my blog since my attempted start over 2 years ago, you’ll notice that I also changed the name of my blog. An ALMOST Organized Heart? you ask. Yes. Definitely “almost”. Although, in reality, “almost” is probably me being too kind to myself. You can ask my poor mother if I have ever been organized – ever. The immediate, no hesitation response would be NEVER! Somewhere around late elementary school I think she finally gave up on me.

Since then, I’ve realized that my disorganization has 2 causes, both of which I’ll be attempting to deal with (among other things) in this blog. The first cause: SIN. I know, not a fun word. But, the truth is, I’m lazy and selfish and have a VERY bad habit of doing what I want to do before doing what I need to do. The second cause: Not being a Natural Born Organizer. My mom is a natural born organizer. I grew up in Martha Stewart Meets Better Homes and Gardens. My house, on the other hand, can quickly begin to look like a mild episode of Horders on a bad day. What I finally realized though, is that I can learn how to be organized. It would (and will) take some work. But, in the end, it’ll be worth it. It’ll be worth it for my kids to learn good habits. It’ll be worth it for my husband to come home to a calm and peaceful home. It’ll be worth it so I can actually invite friends over (once we get some). It’ll be worth it because then I can actually have fun doing the stuff I want to do because the stuff I need to do is taken care of.

The name comes from a book I love and that has really helped to change my outlook:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Organized-Heart-Womans-Conquering/dp/1936760118/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354160854&sr=8-1&keywords=organized+heart

I’ve only read it once, but even as I’m writing this I’m pretty sure I need to read it again and do a bit of a review of it. For now, I need to get back to my 2 year old little man who has yet to go to bed at 10 pm and my frazzled husband who is trying to get 7 chapters of homework done in 4 days.

So, stay tuned for further adventures of a Messy in Remission. 🙂

Leave a Reply

